Notre Dame des Victoires is the former chapel of the Augustinian fathers (Petits-Pères), built in the years 1629-1740. After the French Revolution, it became parish church. In 1836, the parish priest dedicated the church to the devotion of the Immaculate Heart of Mary after the Blessed Virgin appeared to him; the church became a place of pilgrimage. The Church was designated a Basilica in 1927. The church has no aisles, but a continuous series of chapels. The church houses a monumental tomb dedicated to Jean Baptiste Lulli (1632-1687).
The beautiful and unique wooden organcase, tribune and entrance to the nave was made in 1739 by Louis Régnier. François-Henri Lesclop constructed the first organ. The instrument was reconstructed in 1870 by Charles Spackmann Barker and John Abbey in 1898. In 1973, a new instrument was built by Alfred Kern in French-German neo-classical style. A restauration was carried out in 1995 by Mulheisen and maintenance works were done in 2015 by Yves Fossaert & Quentin Blumenroeder.
There are only a few old stops (approx. 7).
|Main builder||History||Latest restauration|
|1973 - Alfred Kern||
1739 - Lesclop
1870 - Barker
1898 - Abbey
1956 - Roethinger
1995 - Mulheisen
2015 - Fossaert & Blumenroeder
IV/49 - Mechanical traction
Titulaires: Luc Stellakis & David Cassan (adjoint)
Famous organists in the past: François Roberday
Masses with organ: saturday 6h30 PM, sunday 11h AM and 6 PM
Specific links: -
An interesting organ built by Victor Gonzalez in 1936/37, and thus one of the few Parisian organs newly built by this famous builder. It is still in its original state, but it is silent for decades. A peculiarity of this organ: it has two organ cases, placed on the right and left of the choir. The left organ case houses the Great and the Pedal, the right houses the Positiv.